Golfing year wraps up

Last Thursday, December 12 12 lady golfers headed out on the front 9 at Scone in perfect golfing weather. 

Claire Dalziel was the winner with 19 points, and the balls went to Sarah Howey, Ruth Wallace, Narelle Rutter 18, Julie Leckie, Jo Brown and Kathy Robinson 16. 

On Saturday Jo Brown blitzed the field with 39 points in the 18 hole stableford, which was the best score on the course for ladies and men! 

Lyn Banks was a ball winner with 33. 

The 9 hole Thursday competition will be played today on the back 9, and then return on January 9. 

A reminder that the New Year’s Day event is a 9 hole 4 person ambrose for the Keg Trophy. 

It will be held in the afternoon with play for members and non-members who would like to try their golf skill in 2014.

The Christmas lunch was well attended and the ladies enjoyed a lovely meal. 

The following presentations (additional to the Presentation Night awards) for the end of the golf season were made. 

Kathy Robinson won the Dr Pye Pointscore, Rob and Ruth Wallace Achievement Points Award, the most gobblers and the Division 2 eclectic. 

Julie Leckie was presented the Captain’s trophy for the largest percentage handicap reduction, a just reward for her golfing commitment this year. 

She and partner Doon MacCallum won the International Fund 4BBB. 

Lyn Banks collected the Division 1 WGA Medal, Div 1 eclectic, most birdies and best 4 out of 6 putting rounds. 

Narelle Rutter won the Division 2 WGA Medal, and Ruth Wallace the District Medal and second in most birdies, whilst Steph McGuirk won the Division 3 eclectic. 

A fond farewell and acknowledgement of the many contributions to Scone Golf Club was also made to Robyn Murray who will be relocating to Tallwoods. 

She and Steve are sure to have many Scone visitors ready to join them in a game of golf.

A summary of the Scone Ladies Golf  major prize winners for 2013 which were given at the Annual Presentation Night is as follows: Club Champion and Division 1 Champion, Scone Newsagency Trophy for Round 2 Championships Best Nett - Lyn Banks; Division 2 Champion, Jean Byrnes Salver (Best Nett Championships), Doris Ham Trophy (Best Nett Championships Veterans Trophy), Barry and Dee Deitz Trophy for Round 3 Championships Best Nett – Kathy Robinson; Division 3 Champion – Beryl Phelps; MacCallum Inglis Trophy for Round 1 Championships Best Nett – Doon MacCallum; Foursomes Championship Scratch – Chris Pickett and Lyn Banks; Foursomes Championships Nett – Noreen Marshall and Beryl Phelps; Medal of Medals  – Noreen Marshall; Ruth Stanford Trophy (Best Nett on Scone Course) – Noreen Marshall and Narelle Rutter; Sue and Alan Watts Trophy (Best 2 out of 3 Stableford) - Sarah Howey; Doon MacCallum Trophy (Best 2 out of 3 Par) – Diane Taylor; Peter Marshall Singles Knockout – Sarah Howey; Marg Marshall 4BBB Knockout – Sarah Howey and Julie Leckie.

Well done to all players who took on the challenge of playing golf in 2013. 

We look forward to more golf on the Scone course, and as visitors around the Hunter and beyond in the coming year. 


Discuss "Golfing year wraps up"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.