Kathy Robinson wins Scone lady golfers’ Monthly Medal

THE Scone lady golfers had a lovely day to play on Thursday, August 3.

It was the sixth GNSW Medal round and the Monthly Medal for the Melanie’s Jewellers Trophy.

Kathy Robinson had her best round ever of 85 for 63 nett to win the medal.

Kellie Tarrant is showing the benefits of regular golf and was the runner-up winning the Scone RSL Group prize with a very good score of 67 nett. 

Both players’ scores resulted in significant handicap reductions for their next game.

These two players won balls along with Ann Cameron 38, Doon MacCallum 37 and Annie Woods 36 points on a countback from Lyn Banks.

It was very pleasing to see Ann Cameron return to golf playing her first round of 18 holes after a knee reconstruction.

Doon MacCallum also won the NTP on the 17th.

On Thursday, August 10, the ladies will play an 18-hole stableford for a Royal Hotel Trophy.

On Saturday, August 5, very windy conditions at Scone made play more challenging and there was less run after the welcome rain two days prior.

The men played an 18-hole stroke/stableford for the Scone RSL Group Monthly Mug.

The Mug and B grade winner was Rod Spratt who had 70 nett to win on a countback from Matt Langan.

Spratt won’t have to buy any balls for a while either as he won the two NTPs with shots to 2.33 metres on the 2nd/11th and 1.2 metres on the 8th/17th also winning a jackpot of 12 balls.

Clayton Rogers was the A grade winner with 37 points and C grade was won by Tony Pringle with 32 points.

Balls went to: Rod Spratt 39, Matt Langan 38, Clayton Rogers 37, Gordon Halliday, Trevor Wilson, Phil McGuirk 36, Geoff Barton, Steve Morse 35, and Ross Banks 34 points on a countback.

In the ladies 18-hole stableford, Lyn Banks had a good round of 36 points to win the Scone RSL Group prize. Kerry McLennan and Yvonne Palmer were ball winners.

On Saturday, August 12, the men will play an 18-hole stableford for Dawson and Dawson’s Realty Trophy.

On Sunday, August 13, players will back up for the Foursomes Championships, which will be played in A, B and C grades over 18 holes.