Scone duo Brett Cavanough and Rachael Murray country finalists for 2017 awards

THE horse capital of Australia is set to make its mark at the upcoming 2017 Country and Provincial Racing Awards.

Scone mentor Brett Cavanough and hoop Rachael Murray have been announced as finalists in their respective categories.

Cavanough trains The Monstar, with the Listed $150,000 June Stakes winner vying for the Country Horse of the Year title alongside Eckstein, Green Sweet and Quatronic.

Murray, who enjoyed a stellar 12-month period, faces experienced campaigners Greg Ryan and Robert Thompson for Country Jockey of the Year.

The gifted rider created a piece of history at Tamworth in June when she became the first NSW female jockey to amass 100 winners in a season.

The 2017 function is to take place at the Four Seasons Hotel, Sydney, on Friday, September 29.

Country finalists

Simon Nivison Special Achievement Award

No finalists are announced.

Country TAB Race Club of the Year

Moruya Jockey Club 

Murrumbidgee Turf Club 

Muswellbrook Race Club 

Wellington Jockey Club

Community Race Club of the Year

Berrigan & District Race Club 

Bong Bong Picnic Race Club 

Deepwater Jockey Club 

Gilgandra Jockey Club

Outstanding Achievement Award

Crookwell District Amateur Picnic Race Club 

Lismore Turf Club 

Tuncurry-Forster Jockey Club 

Tweed River Jockey Club

Country Horse of the Year


Green Sweet 

The Monstar 


Country Trainer of the Year

Brett Thompson 

Matthew Dunn 

Trevor Sutherland

Country Jockey of the Year

Greg Ryan 

Rachael Murray

Robert Thompson

Country Leading Apprentice of the Year

Jean Van Overmeire

Leading Approved Rider of the Year

Ricky Blewitt