Scone's Sofie Casson, Rebecca Hill and Flynn Haggarty, as well as Murrurundi's Jessica Presland and Hannah Rando, selected in Greater Northern Tigers representative league tag side for Country Championships

GROUP 4's unbeaten run to a Greater Northern League Tag Championship was rewarded on the selection table at Jack Woolaston Oval, North Tamworth, on Friday night.

After beating Group 19 24-0 and Group 21 12-0 to snare the Jane Walmsley Shield, the expertly-coached outfit then had eight players named in the 16-strong Tigers squad to contest the Country Championships at Glen Innes on July 20.

The Wayne Griffiths-mentored Group 4 side was clinical and quick.

Abby Schmiedel (2), Steph Halpin and Ellie New all scored tries in their first win while keeping Group 19 scoreless.

Kim Resch also converted all four tries.

Then Group 19 beat Group 21 18-10 after Vicki Youman posted two good tries and Amy Barraclough kicked three booming conversions.

Group 21 proved to be a tough opponent for Group 4 in the final game, a see-sawing match where Piper Rankmore and Halpin both crossed for brilliant four-pointers.

"We saw some great football here tonight," Greater Northern Region area manager Scott Bone said.

"Women's league tag continues to grow every year."

Walmsley, Greater Northern's delegate to Country Rugby League, then presented the trophy named after her to Group 4 captain Emma Carrigan, who thanked her opponents, Group 21 and Group 4.

"That was a very fast pace out there tonight," she said.

"We'd just like to thank Group 19 and 21's players and coaches."

Damien Allen, who coached the Kootingal Roosters to a Group 4 league tag premiership last year, will oversee the Greater Northern team.

And, he was delighted with the side handed to him.

"There was plenty of talent on display tonight," he said.

"It was hard to pick a team.

"But, it's a quick and elusive side."

Allen said he wants to play a fast style [at the Country Championships] and that was reflected in the selected players.

Group 4 had eight women named - Emma Carrigan, Nautica Eather, Steph Halpin, Georgina Horniman, Paris Knox, Piper Rankmore, Kim Resch and Abby Schmiedel, which reflects their pace and speed.

Scone's Sofie Casson, Rebecca Hill and Flynn Haggarty, as well as Murrurundi duo Jessica Presland and Hannah Rando, received a call-up, too.

Rounding out the squad is Group 19's Amy Barraclough, Sarah Byrne and Taneika Landsborough.

"Steph [Halpin] was outstanding," Allen said.

"It's only her first year of league tag."

He said the Greater Northern side would have its first training run next Friday, with a couple more sessions before "going into camp at Glen Innes".


Jack Woolaston Oval, North Tamworth

GROUP 4 24 (Abby Schmiedel 2, Steph Halpin, Ellie New tries; Kim Resch 4 goals) d GROUP 19 0

GROUP 19 18 (Vicki Youman 2, Deborah McGrady tries; Amy Barraclough 3 goals) d GROUP 21 10 (Samantha Elphick, Gaynor Blackadder tries; Elphick goal)

GROUP 4 12 (Piper Rankmore, Steph Halpin tries; Rankmore, Kim Resch goals) d Group 21 0


(Team to play in Country Championships at Glen Innes on July 20): Amy Barraclough (G19), Sarah Byrne (G19), Emma Carrigan (G4), Sofie Casson (G21), Nautica Eather (G4), Flynn Haggarty (G21), Steph Halpin (G4), Rebecca Hill (G21), Georgina Horniman (G4), Paris Knox (G4), Taneika Landsborough (G19), Jessica Presland (G21), Hannah Rando (G21), Piper Rankmore (G4), Kim Resch (G4), Abby Schmiedel (G4); coach - Damien Allen (Kootingal)


Jack Woolaston Oval (Friday, July 5)

GROUP 4: 1 Kim Resch (North Tamworth), 3 Jacqui Jones (Gunnedah), 4 Emma Carrigan (c - Dungowan), 5 Nautica Eather (Gunnedah), 7 Ellie New (Dungowan), 9 Steph Halpin (North Tamworth), 10 Georgia Horniman (North Tamworth), 11 Khobi Devine (Gunnedah), 12 Hope Martin (Dungowan), 13 Casey Hatch (Werris Creek), 14 Piper Rankmore (Gunnedah), 15 Sheena Ruttley (South West Robins), 16 Abby Schmiedel (Kootingal), 17 Dayna Porter (Werris Creek), 18 Paris Knox (Dungowan), 20 Alina Swan (Dungowan); coach - Wayne Griffiths (Gunnedah)

GROUP 21: 1 Flynn Haggarty (Scone), 2 Jessica Presland (Murrurundi), 3 Michelle Wamsley (Murrurundi), 4 Hannah Rando (Murrurundi), 5 Samantha Elphick (Scone), 6 Shae Pemberton (Muswellbrook), 7 Sofie Casson (Scone), 8 Shai Blackadder (Merriwa), 9 Gaynor Blackadder (Merriwa), 10 Jessyca Morgan (Merriwa), 11 Rebecca Hill (Scone), 12 Maddilyn Blackadder (Merriwa), 13 Sheree Johnson (Murrurundi), 14 Sophie Hinde (Scone), 15 Georgia Watts (Scone), 16 Emily Huggins (Muswellbrook); coach - Gaynor Blackadder (Merriwa)

GROUP 19: 1 Kathryn McCulloch (Armidale), 2 Sophie Barraclough (Uralla), 3 Sarah Byrne (Glen Innes), 4 Simone Thompson (Tingha), 5 Sarah Wolfe (Glen Innes), 6 Amy Barraclough (Uralla), 7 Lauren Acton (Uralla), 8 Vicki Youman (Uralla), 9 Alicia Bussell (Bundarra), 10 Aleah Peckham (Moree Boars), 11 Hayley Ford (Armidale), 12 Alyce Walsh (Uralla), 13 Natalie Hammond (Bundarra), 14 Tanieka Landsborough (Armidale), 15 Deborah McGrady (Moree Boars), 19 Kiah Picker (Moree Boomerangs); coach - Paul Martin