Scone Golf Club: Scone's Tim Smith wins 2020 Kevans Knockout

Tim Smith

Tim Smith

THE Scone Golf Club Kevans Knockout has been decided for 2020 with Tim Smith winning the prestigious event for the first time.

The final of the handicap match play last week was between Mick Reynolds handicap 9 and Tim Smith handicap 6.

Tim played very well and was only 2 over par after 14 holes which made the match very difficult for Mick. John Kevans has generously sponsored the event for an amazing 47 years.

It was a pleasant morning for golf on Thursday November 19 at Scone. The ladies commenced the summer 9 hole season with a novel event kindly sponsored by June Jukes.

Three clubs and a putter was all that was permitted to play the front 9 in the stableford competition.

Fifteen ladies enjoyed the outing followed by gathering at Metani Café at the Sporties Club.

Noreen Marshall had a top round of 20 points to be the winner.

Barb Hobbs found her way around nicely with 19 points and Sarah Howey beat two others on a countback for third prize with 18 points.

Ball went to these players plus Kim Clydsdale, Louise Mathews 18, Dinie Bishop and Jodie Hinde on 17 points.

A small field played on Wednesday in the 18 Hole Open Medley Stableford event. Luke Stevens was the winner with a very good round of 3 over par for 40 points, well done Luke.

The ball winners were:Luke Stevens 40, Andrew Parry-Okeden, Adam Brayshaw 35, Dan Malone 34 and visitor Jarrod Tickle 33 points on a countback from Ross Banks.

On Saturday November 21 a good field of 41 played an 18 Hole Stableford sponsored by James Archibald. There were some happy golfers returning to the Sporties Club for the start and finish of their rounds and appreciation goes to all involved to facilitate this after many months.

With golf arrangements nearly back to normal, a huge well done must go to the Scone Golf Committee and Captain Ross Banks who has been instrumental in organising daily golf largely from home for a number of months.

Some very good scores were recorded on a pleasant but warm day for golf, with the top seven players having better than 36 points.

The winner was Tony Pringle who had a fine round of 42 points. The second place prize went to the in form Luke Stevens who had 40 points, whilst the third place prize was won by Col Solway on a countback from Jim Elder on 39 points.

Balls were won byTony Pringle 42, Luke Stevens 40, Col Solway, Jim Elder 39, Mick Alsleben, Stuart Dawson 38, Jock O'Connor 37, Chris Wilson 36, Paul Smart, Charlie Manning, John Roe, Warren Styles, Jake Teague 35, Jeff Harrington, Wayne Hedley, Matt Hobbs 34, Steve Morse, Paul McLoughlin 33, Matt Bailey, Kevin Thompson 32 and David Druce 31 points on a countback from Ross Banks and Charlie Wintle. Welcome to Rhys Betts who had his first competition round.

Julie Leckie and Annie Woods competed in the NSW Senior Ladies Championship during the week at Duntryleague Golf Course, Orange.

Three stroke rounds were played on this wonderful country course which presented with very fast greens.

The comradery of players from all over the state was enjoyed after little touring golf being possible this year.

Golf for the coming week includes the regular 18 hole event on Wednesday and the ladies 9 hole competition on Thursday. On Saturday November 28 the players will have a different event on the program with an 18 Hole Individual and 2Ball Par event being sponsored by David Druce and Mick Reynolds.

With the Sporties Club now being open, the booking system for golf has been changed. Players may book in at the club or phone the staff on 6545 1814 during club opening hours to book their game for Wednesday and Saturday. The timesheets are available at the bar a week prior to the event.

The Thursday ladies are requested to register their intention to play with Lyn Banks by Wednesday at 5pm on 0439 373 136. Golf enquiries can also be made to Ross Banks on 0488 591 237

Final ticket sales for the Annual Golf Presentation Night to be held on Saturday November 28 need to be made by 6pm Tuesday November 24.

At the recent AGM for the Scone Golf Club Committee, the previous office bearers were re-elected. Michael Alsleben President, Justin Smart Secretary, Lindsay Hodge Treasurer, Ross Banks Men's Captain, Lyn Banks Ladies' Captain, Scott Reid Men's Vice Captain, and Julie Leckie Ladies' Vice Captain, are looking forward to a wonderful year of golf on the Scone course for members and visitors.