Large fields turn out for Scone Golf Club competitions

IN perfect golfing conditions on the weekend, large fields turned out for events on the Scone Golf Course.

The Mixed Foursomes Championship was played on Sunday and the winners were Ross and Lyn Banks, who defended their title with a good score of 80 from runners up Kerry McLennan and Graham White. 

In the nett event for the Ross and Lyn Banks Trophy, these two pairs featured again, with the Banks’ 72 winning by half a shot, but McLennan and White were pleased to accept the re-donated trophies. 

Balls went to Ross and Lyn Banks 72, Graham White and Kerry McLennan 72.5, Scott Shann and Annie Woods 76.5 and Scott Lye and Yvonne Palmer 76.5.

On Saturday, July 15, the men played an 18-hole individual stableford and two-digit stableford for James and Justin Smart’s Trophy. 

In this interesting scoring system, Jeff Harrington and Brad Hockley had the best combination to amass 338 points. 

Runners up were Glen Tarrant and Tim Smith on 333.

Forty points was the best individual score by three players, but Sean Constable won on a countback from Mac Dawson and Stuart Dawson.

Round two of the Isis Motel FBBB Championships was played. 

A grade was won by Harrington and Hockley 70, 68 for 138, and C grade by Lye and Tom Thompson 95, 93 for 188. 

B grade is yet to be determined as two pairs finished on the same score of 157, requiring an 18-hole play-off between Tony O'Neill and Paul Smart, and Scott Reid and Matt Langan.

The NTPs were won by Constable, 3.18 metres on the 2nd/11th, while Col Solway collected an extra 12 balls for a jackpot on the 8th/17th when he finished 0.86 metres from the hole.

Balls went to Constable, Mac Dawson, Stuart Dawson 40, Harrington 39, Langan, Justin Smart, Hockley 38, Trevor Wilson 37, Paul Smart 36, David Druce, Banks 35, Alan Wood, Smith 34 and O'Neill 33 on a countback from four others.

On Saturday, July 22, the 3 Man Ambrose Championship will be played for Gary Leake, Bob Johnston and Chris King’s Trophy. 

The long running event, which started in 1988, requires a player from each grade to be in the team.

In the ladies stableford, Banks edged out McLennan for the Scone RSL Group prize when she had 36 points, one ahead of Kerry.

Thursday, July 13, the ladies event was also a stableford sponsored by Sally Archibald. 

It was pleasing to see her have a game and she also had the best score of the day with 35 points. 

Jo Brown benefited from the re-donated prize as she also had 35 points. 

Both these players won balls along with Kathy Robinson 34, and June Jukes 33.

Noreen Marshall won the NTP on the 17th.

The ladies Club Championships begin on Thursday, July 20, with round two on Sunday, July 23, and the final stage on July 27. 

This will be the last championship on the current course and many players will be striving to win each division in both the scratch and nett. 

On Sunday, July 23, some men will venture to Merriwa to play in their Open Day. 

Male players should remember that the Scone Open will be played on Sunday, July 30. 

On Saturday, July 29, men and women are welcomed to try their game at an Irish Foursomes event for Gordon Halliday and Phil McGuirk’s Trophy. 

On each hole, both players hit off then swap balls for the second shots, and then play ambrose golf from there.

In the Sunday Red Tee Challenge none-hole competition, the prize winner on Sunday, July 16, was Wes Boyd who had 29 points.