Beautiful moments captured through the lens: Murrurundi Arts and Crafts Council 2019 Photographic Prize

PHOTOGRAPHERS recently had the chance to showcase their work at the annual Murrurundi Photographic Prize.

The Murrurundi Arts and Crafts Council hosted another successful opening and awards night at the Murrurundi RSL Hall on Friday, October 4.

The hall came to life with beautiful moments captured through the lens.

Exhibition Secretary Gilly Paterson said that while entry numbers were down this year, the quality of photographs was still outstanding.

"We're not sure if entries were down considerably due to drought conditions or school holidays, but the standard was still extremely high," she said.

The works were judged by local photographer, Rhonda Thwaite, who has vast experience working in Australia and overseas in the photographic industry.

The Prize boasts five categories including an Open section, Landscape, Portraiture, Animals and Action.

Local artists dominated the winners list with recognisable names such as Scone photographer Amanda Gaffney-Ray taking out first place in the open section and fellow Scone photographer Joan Faras winning the action section with a fantastic rodeo shot.

Winners of each category were Clyde Vaughan (Best in Show), Amanda Gaffney-Ray (Open), Louise Mathews (Landscape/Garden), Amanda Gaffney-Ray (Portraiture), Wendy Manwarring (Animals/wildlife) and Joan Faras (Action).

Highly commended awards were also presented to Kaspar Kludas and Anna Gipps.

If you would like to view the fantastic display of local photographs, the exhibition is open this weekend on October 12 and 13 from 10am to 4pm at the RSL Hall on Mayne Street Murrurundi opposite the information centre.

Entry is gold coin donation and wonderful raffle prizes are up for grabs, donated by local businesses.

Photographic Prize 2019 Winners and Highly Commended:

Best in Show: Clyde Vaughan

Open Section Winner: Amanda Gaffney-Ray

Winner Landscape: Louise Mathews

Open Highly Commended: Joan Faras

Open Highly Commended: Kaspas Kludas

Landscape Highly Commended: Clyde Vaughan

Winner Portraiture: Amanda Gaffney-Ray

Highly Commended: Amanda Gaffney-Ray

Winner Animals: Wendy Manwarring

Highly Commended: Wendy Manwarring

Winner Action: Joan Faras

Action Highly Commended: Anna Gipps