Matt and Will O'Donnell capture Isis Motel 4BBB Championships, four shots clear of Jake Teague and Mac Dawson

Big fields, full streams a highlight for Scone Golf Club

THE Scone Golf Course was filled with golfers on Saturday as 59 players competed in the competition of the day.

This was almost a full field for the 18-hole stableford sponsored by Mick Alsleben and Luck's Meats.

It was also round two of the Isis Motel 4BBB Championships.

The champions for 2020 in the four-ball best-ball are Matt and Will O'Donnell, who had a fantastic round of seven under par 65 to go with their 69 from two weeks ago - and a finishing score of 134.

This had them four shots ahead of Jake Teague and Mac Dawson 138 (71; 67).

Playing from the white tees, Will O'Donnell had an individual round of three under par 69.

The B grade event was extremely close with three pairs finishing within three shots.

The champions are David Druce and Mick Reynolds 160 (81; 79) who won by one stroke from fast-finishing Daniel Malone and Alan Wood 161 (86; 75).

Brad Hockley and Scott Reid were the consistent pair having 81, 81 to be a further shot behind.

In C grade, David Bradshaw and Lindsay Hodge 173 (89; 84) finished well ahead of Jim Elder and Tony Pringle on 186.

Many thanks go to long-time sponsors Glen and Kelly Tarrant from the Isis Motel for their sponsorship of this event.

The winners will receive their prizes at the annual presentation night later in the year.

In the daily event the scores were extremely good.

It was a cool and cloudy day, which eventually resulted in some rain for the later groups on the back nine.

Glen Tarrant with 41 points won the major prize of the day sponsored by Mick Alsleben and Lucks Meats.

Prizes extended to the top six scores so lots of players went home happy.

The next three places were decided by countback when all players had 40 points, visitor Josh Noble was second, Will O'Donnell third and Charlie Wintle fourth.

Alan Wood was fifth with 39 points and Brad Baker rounded out the prizes on 38 points on a countback from Mick Alsleben and Mick Reynolds.

The ball winners were: Glen Tarrant 41, Josh Noble (visitor) 40, Will O'Donnell 40, Charlie Wintle 40, Alan Wood 39, Brad Baker 38, Mick Alsleben 38, Mick Reynolds 38, Adam Brayshaw 37, Lindsay Hodge 37, Matt O'Donnell 37, Mac Dawson 37, Peter Teague 37, John Roe 36, David Adams 36, David O'Donnell 36, Daniel Malone 36, David Bradshaw 36, Jake Teague 36, George Betts 35, Michael Morton 35, Daryl Dutton 35, Phil McGuirk 35, Lyn Banks 35, Clayton Rogers 35, Jodie Hinde 34, Neil Clydsdale 34, Julie Leckie 34, Justin Smart 34, Brad Hockley 34 points on a countback from Wes Boyd and Michael Jordan (visitor).

On Saturday, August 1, players will contest the Scone RSL Group Monthly Mug.

It is a stroke/stableford event played from the blue tees with The Mug being determined by the best nett score on the day, but the grade prizes and ball competition are based on stableford scores.

The next men's championship event will be the Men's Foursomes on Sunday, August 16.

On Wednesday, July 22, Garry Taylor had a fine round of 39 points to be the winner of the 18-hole Open Medley Stableford sponsored by the Scone RSL Group in a field of 18 players.

Jake Teague also won a prize when he had 38 points.

Balls went to these players along with Jonathan Keep, Garry Carter, Lyn Banks 36, Graham Brown 34, Glen Tarrant, Wes Boyd and visitor Phil Tarrant all on 33.

A brisk start and then an ideal golfing day occurred for the lady golfers on Thursday, July 23.

A good field contested an 18-hole stableford sponsored by Noreen Marshall.

Dordie Bragg had a lovely round of 40 points to be the clear winner.

The runner-up was Sarah Howey who edged out Kathy Robinson on a countback when they both had 37 points.

The ball winners were: Dordie Bragg 40, Sarah Howey, Kathy Robinson 37, Lyn Banks 35 and Louise Mathews 29 points.

This Thursday, July 30, the ladies will play an 18-hole stableford event sponsored by Jodie Hinde.

The ladies are starting games in the Marshall Singles knockout, the Julie Leckie Putting Championship and organising partners for the Foursomes Championship to be played on August 13.